Spring Season 2012

After a packed winter season comes a packed spring season. I wonder if anime in general is geting better or whether it’s just my standards falling.

Spring Season 2012 from neregate.com

Spring Season 2012 from neregate.com

Lately I’ve been using the neregate.com charts. Before every season I look at the chart and pick several titles to watch at least one episode of. Sometimes I don’t even finish the one, sometimes I watch the whole series and sometimes a friend recommends a series I previously took one look at and turned away.

Let’s see then:

1. Kimi to Boku. 2

I want to watch this one, but first I have to finish the first season. It’s a slice-of-life anime about four childhood friends in high-school. It can be a bit boring. I have to admit I’ve watched only the first two episodes so far. The first episode aired on April 3rd.

2. Yurumates 3D

This one already has two OVAs – one from 2009 and the other from last year. I guess I’ll be watching those first then. Yurumates 3D is about a rounin-filled apartment complex, Maison du Wish. I’m expecting it to be funny and relaxing. There might be some daily Japanese life mixed in too! The first episode has already aired too, on April 1st.

3. Kuromajo-san ga Touru!!

An occult-loving 5th-grader Chiyoko summons a witch, who then proceeds to torture her with magical training. Of course, Chiyoko has to go to school at the same time, so I expect her to have fun juggling the two. Fortunately this one has no prequels.

4. Gakkatsu!

5-minute episodes of a class discussing different topics. I’m guessing a Lucky Star look-alike. I might drop it because of the animation though.

5. Shirokuma Cafe

A cafe run by a polar bear with animal customers by Pierot. Here I’m just curious really.

6. Natsuiro Kiseki

Natsuiro Kiseki is a piece for seiyuu lovers. Four schoolgirls voiced by Kotobuki Minako, Tomatsu Haruka, Takagaki Ayahi and Toyosaki Aki spend school and summer days together hanging out. A nice fuzzy series.

7. Sankarea

Zombies upon zombies upon zombies. I’ll try it though.

8. Acchi Kocchi

A tsundere, four-eyes and their class. Looks cute, sounds cute, so I’ll give it a shot.

9. Haiyore! Nyaruko-san

As a H. P. Lovecraft lover I’ve been trying to find time to watch Haiyoru! Nyaruani: Remember My Love(craft-sensei) since it came out last winter. Now I just have one more reason to do so as soon as possible.

10. Sakamichi no Apollon

1966, it’s the era of jazz, it seems. I’m not much of a music person, but hey! It’s jazz.

11. Hyoka

While the plot summary sounds boring, KyoAni is enough to make me want to at least try. It seems to be a generic school anime with great animation.

In addition to all this I’ll be atempting to minimize my Watching, On Hold, Dropped and Plan to Watch lists on MyAnimeList.net We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

