Two new things in WordPress 2014

Blogging at WordPress.com is almost painfully trivial. You sign up and you’re ready – a straightforward CMS (available in 50+ languages) with spam protection, 3GB of server space, statistics overview, mobile access, social plugins, 130+ themes to choose from, safe and reliable hosting, and impeccable support. For free.

The team behind this project is working hard to make it even easier. (And they’re always hiring, if you want to help them out.) What are the newest improvements that I noticed?

1. After 2.5 years of using WordPress and thinking “There should be screenshots here.”, there are screenshots on the “My Blogs” page. (You have to be logged in for the link to work.)

my_blogs

I think there used to be the WordPress logo there. You know, the blue-and-white Ⓦ

2. When you’re logged in, you have this black bar at the top of your window with your name on the right. By clicking on it you’ll get to your account settings. At the end of the form a new option has been added – Posting Goal.

schedule

To read more about the feature, see Get your new blog off to a great start (Hint: we can help!) by michelle w.

I think this is a great idea. I have been looking for something similar for a while now with no success. The (planned) posting schedule for a dash of dorry has always been once a week and I would appreciate a reminder that the week is coming to an end and I haven’t written anything.

Except I can’t really use it and, if you scroll down the aforementioned announcement post to read the comments, I’m not the only one.

My main issue is that this is a user-specific option. I run two blogs and contribute to two other ones. I think you can guess by now – I would need the reminders to be blog-specific.

The other is that I would like to be able to choose from more options than ‘once a week’ and ‘once a month,’ but that’s not as important to me.

Two more opinions from the comments:

“It would be nice if you could set other goals other than posting once a week, like trying to get a set amount of followers etc.” MyLifeUK2014

“Me, I just look at my blog’s calendar widget; no need for e-mail or to log in somewhere: if a week is missing a link, I know I’m behind. So far so good, since I’m aiming for a minimum of one post per week.” by Sirus

Anyway like I already wrote, I like the idea. Plus michelle, the author of the announcement, mentioned that they will consider our feedback when developing goal-setting further. (See, I was serious about my praise for WP’s developers and support.)

Don’t worry – there will be a real post on Thursday.

One comment on “Two new things in WordPress 2014

Leave a Reply

