Backlog: Week 2

Welcome to the third post about my “backlog adventure”. I tried writing a bit more about the series and not just my incoherent reactions this time, so I hope you like the format better. This week I watched 21 episodes, including 11 shorts. (Random piece of trivia: In January I finished 15 anime series. That’s the most I ever finished in a month.)

80966Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu

First thing I finished are these 3-minute shorts. The main character is a fudanshi, a boy who loves boys-love. (He’s not gay, by the way. I think there is whole one episode about that…) The anime tells snippets from his life. Other characters include Nakamura, the normal high-school male, and Rumi, a fujoshi (a girl who likes boys-love).

Aoi Hana

I finally finished this like I wrote last week! It only took 6+ years — I started it so long ago that it’s not on my MAL. Anyway, the anime omits so much. Of course it omitted the erotic scenes, I expected that. But Ikumi-san’s and Sawanoi-san’s relationship! And Mogi’s love! I suppose they had to cut something. After all, the manga is 8 volumes — that’s 52 chapters. Read it, everyone!

aoi_hana

Oh, what is it about? It’s a very sweet shoujo-ai (yuri, if we’re talking about the manga) about girls in high-school and their (both lesbian and straight) relationships. The main character Fumi moves back to the place where she grew up just in time for high-school. Her childhood friend A-chan is going to a school close-by. The medium-sized cast falls in love easily. Everyone is in love with Sugimoto-senpai, but she seduces Fumi. They kiss. But senpai is actually in love with someone else… 素敵です。

Amaama to Inazuma

I wrote that I would finish this too and I did. It is a very sweet series about Inuzuka-sensei and his daughter Tsumugi cooking. After Tsumugi’s mother died, they had been living off konbini bentos. Then sensei talks to his pupil, Iida Kotori, and she invites him to eat at her mother’s restaurant. Except Iida-san has to leave because of her job and sensei, Tsumugi and Kotori are left to cook their own dinner. Except they can’t cook. The series chronicles their cooking adventures — tonjiru, Salisbury steak or okonomiyaki.

sweetness_and_lightning_ep_6_eyecatch_1

I would like to point out Tsumugi’s voice-acting and the fact that, like in the manga, there is no romance. Even though it would be very easy to pair the characters off, they didn’t go that way and I really appreciate it.

Kyoukai no Kanata

I picked this back up from episode 10 and damn, did I not remember a thing! I was about as confused as Akihito. Then I cried at the end of episode 11. I remember crying when I watched episode 9… 4 years ago. Final thoughts: It’s a tear-jerker! ;___;

kyoukainokanata

Akihito Kanbara is a high school sophomore in the literature club who believes himself to be a “Meganest”, and although he appears to be human, he is actually half Yōmu, which makes him invulnerable to wounds, due to the fact that he can heal so quickly, and also immortal. One day, Akihito meets freshman Mirai Kuriyama when it appears as if she is about to attempt suicide by jumping off of the school rooftop. Mirai is isolated because of her ability to manipulate blood, which is considered heresy even among other members of the underworld, so she is shunned. Soon after Akihito saves Mirai, disturbing events begin to arise.

ANN

Teekyuu 8

WTF shorts – 2 minutes including OP/ED. I don’t think there’s anything more to say.

teekyuu8

What shall I watch next? Maybe Shokugeki no Souma 2 (4 eps) and Futari Ecchi (3 eps)? I could watch some movies too.

Leave a Reply

