Backlog: Week 4

I’ve been busy, but I still managed to watch 3 episodes every day. So I watched 21 eps total — including 10 shorts and one 80-minute movie.

I’m running out of things to say in these introductions. That was fast…

Futari Ecchi

I’m talking about the four original OVAs, not the 2014 sequel. It’s about a couple of newly-weds and their sexual inexperience. Yes, there are erotic scenes. (The manga is supposed to be more explicit though.)

futariecchi

I mind the scenes where a character’s mouth isn’t moving, but they’re talking and people around them hear them, so it’s obviously not inner monologue. And the 90’s animation. (It aired 2002 to 2004 by the way.) But overall, it’s one of the better ecchi/hentai anime I’ve seen.

Handa-kun

I loved Barakamon, so I was really interested in a prequel — Handa Sei’s high-school life. Unfortunately it’s pretty bad. Spoilers for episode 1: half the episode is spent with the Handa Force making their own terrible anime and the second half is what you’ll see in the following 11 episodes. Handa is convinced he’s hated, meanwhile he’s the most popular guy in school.

476a9ad16cddba2c5009710c795a32e21468198424_full

I finished it, but I definitely did not enjoy it. The characters are great, no cookie-cutter forms, but the stories etc… 4/10

Kyoukai no Kanata: I’ll Be Here – Kako-hen

This is just a retelling of the TV series. I watched it because I feel like I don’t remember enough and it’s all a bit jumbled (don’t drink and watch anime, kids). As far as I can tell, there’s no new content. But some important things were left out, so you can’t really watch Kako-hen in place of the TV series.

ntfkyxl

Actually I’ve got a number of anime where I’m missing just the last four episodes. And a number of movies. And maybe next time we could do a progress check?

Leave a Reply

