Backlog: Week 6

Here we are again. This week I had a hard time keeping up with my episodes. Especially on Monday and Tuesday. But I still managed to watch 21 episodes, including 17 shorts. Yeah, I’m mostly watching shorts, because I’m busy. That’s also why I finished three shorts series this week.

Anitore! EX

These are three-minute shorts about exercising with five idols-to-be. They do various things, like practicing dance moves, calisthenics, tai chi or going to the gym. Something like Exercising with Hinako, only with much worse animation.

Higepiyohigepiyo

Higepiyo, the bearded chick, is bought into the Haneda family and experiences plenty adventures with Hiroshi at school, competing with the annoying Kumano-kun, just walking around, et cetera. Higepiyo has the heart of a samurai. Most episodes are just 5-minute almost stand-alone stories, except for an arc with his little sister and two (I think) two-part ones.

The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan

A Haruhi spin-off focused on the romantic relationship between Yuki and Kyon, where Asakura gets a lot of screen time as Yuki’s best friend and guardian. I loved the disappearance arc, but why did I have to watch 9 episodes of Yuki being an incompetent dunce, all flustered about Kyon, for 3 episodes of good story? I enjoyed the finale, but was it worth the boring and almost annoying 9.5 episode intro? I’m still deciding.

yukichan

Other good points are: Haruhi has a lot less screen time (I find her very annoying — I liked The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya, because of the lack of Haruhi) and Mikuru gets almost none. (She’s a blob in this series. If you thought she was a blob in the original series, she’s even more so in this one.)

Some worse points: The character designs are slightly changed, minor characters (like Mikuru and Koizumi) are reduced to cookie-cutter personalities, Kyon’s annoying little sister gets screen time et cetera.

Overall: 5/10

Okusama ga Seitokaichou!+!

This is the second season of My Wife is the Student Council President!

The story begins with Izumi Hayato running to be student council president. But when a beautiful girl swings in promising the liberalization of love while flinging condoms into the audience, he ends up losing to her and becoming the vice president. At the student council meeting, the newly-elected president invites herself over to Izumi’s house, where she promptly announces she is to become Izumi’s wife thanks to an agreement—facilitated by alcohol—made between their parents when they were only 3.

It’s very ecchi, sometimes bordering on hentai. It took a lot of willpower to finish. I don’t recommend it.

damedesuyo-okusama-ga-seitokaichou-12-1280x720-10bit-aac-565e81f3-mkv_snapshot_07-55_2017-03-05_20-48-45

I wonder what I’ll finish next week. There’s not much I would be in the mood for and close to finishing. So maybe Kyoukai no Kanata Movie: I’ll Be Here – Mirai-hen, Hibike! Euphonium Movie: Kitauji Koukou Suisougaku-bu e Youkoso or some other movies and OVAs.

 

 

2 comments on “Backlog: Week 6

  1. […] Tore! XX, short for Anime Training, is the second season to Ani Tore! EX which I wrote about in Backlog: Week 6. They are three-minute shorts about six girls, who want to become idols. In the second season they […]

  2. […] I’m not going to write out a review today, because I already reviewed the series in Backlog: Week 6. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.