Backlog: Week 7

It’s Sunday! This week I finished two movies, one short and one series. As always I watched 21 episodes, including 13 shorts. I’m finishing a lot, but my “watching” and “to watch” numbers are barely budging.

Hibike! Euphonium Movie: Kitauji Koukou Suisougaku-bu e Youkoso

The movie is a summary of the first season. There is no new content and the animation is as good as in the first season. I don’t think much is new. Maybe it’s just an edited version.

Only bad point: I missed some of the “fluff”. It made the story go along much smoother.

(But I laughed at Kumiko’s pronunciation of Dvořák.)

Kyoukai no Kanata Movie: I’ll Be Here – Mirai-hen

Just like Hibike! Euphonium, Kyoukai no Kanata is by KyoAni, which means high quality everything. Not that I don’t have some objections, but none are technical. Anyway, it’s a tear-jerker once again. (Or maybe I just cry easily?)  It starts off very gently, developing the “new” Kuriyama, but soon enough we’re back into the story.

It was great, building upon what we already knew and working well with the characters. I would love to learn more about Akihito’s mother though, she’s a real mystery. Also the ending was a little bit deus ex machine — all that only through the power of love?

Amanchu!

Teko moves to a town by the ocean from Tokyo. She’s very shy and a worrier. Fortunately the eccentric Pikari takes her under her wing and Teko makes friends, joins a diving club and in all has a great high-school experience.

I went into this expecting a diving anime. This is not a sports anime! It’s much more about friendship and daily life. But I like slice-of-life, so I didn’t mind.

As for the animation, the CG is visible. It’s not as bad as Minami Kamakura High School Girls Cycling Club (airing this season), but it’s there. The character expressions and cats are particular. If, in five years, you show me a shot of Pikari’s googly eyes or Teko’s delta mouth or the ass cat, I’ll know.

Minami no Shima no Dera-chan

This is a 5-minute short preceding Tamako Love Story movie, which I hope to watch soon. It’s about Dera’s life back on the southern island with Choi and the prince.

And that’s it for this week. What’s next? A Math exam, a Geodesy exam, an IT test,… I might watch the Tamako Market Specials (6 × 4 minutes), Tamako Love Story or Sore ga Seiyuu (7 eps).

2 comments on “Backlog: Week 7

  1. Sykysan says:

    So much Kyo Ani!!!!! Yum!

Leave a Reply

